Children’s Illustrator competition

Standard

The deadline for Susanna Leonard Hill’s competition is looming (Monday April 28 at 9 PM EDT) http://susannahill.blogspot.co.uk/2014/04/the-first-ever-pretty-much-world-famous.html?m=1″ and I’m watching with anticipation as my rhyming fractured fairy tale ‘Sweetie Witch’ was a winner in last month’s writing competition, so is open to be illustrated in this one.
There have already been two versions of a ‘Sweetie Witch’ book cover entered (follow the link to admire them, both fabulous in their own way).
The range of styles already entered is vast, and Susanna is a wonderful person for giving writers and illustrators a chance to showcase their work, network, and most importantly have lots of fun!
Here’s my winning entry (it came joint third).

Sweetie Witch
By Pen Avey

A sweet old witch named Hilda
Lived deep in Toffee Wood,
Weaving magic, casting spells…
Some bad, but mostly good.
One day while dipping in a stream
To catch a moonlight pearl,
She heard a sob, and in a bush
There crouched a tearful girl.
“I beg you Miss, don’t eat me!”
Pleaded little Gretel,
“My bones are dry, my flesh is thin,
My blood tastes yuck, like metal.”
Hilda laughed and shook her head,
Though Gretel was suspicious.
“Why would I eat you dear
When my house tastes so delicious?”
The witch led Gretel through the trees
Into a fairy glade,
And Gretel’s eyes grew round as hoops
At wonders there displayed.
A cottage built from gingerbread
And cake, instead of oak.
Up from the chocolate chimney pot
Rose cotton-candy smoke.
Brightly colored lollipops
In pots beside the door.
Honeycomb for roof tiles,
And sherbet on the floor.
A table made from liquorice,
With soft marshmallow chairs.
A rug of woven apple-whips,
And jelly-beans for stairs.
“The best part’s round the back, my dear,”
Hilda trilled with glee,
“My sweetie tree makes anything – look –
I’m growing a muffin settee!”
When Gretel saw she gave a gasp
For on it her brother sat,
His mouth crammed full of muffin crumbs,
Stroking the witch’s cat.
“Hello there, my name’s Hansel,”
The foolish glutton said,
“Could you get me some milk to wash this down?”
Suddenly… the witch… saw RED!
“Oh, greedy boy!” yelled Hilda,
“You really are a hog!”
With that she waved her candy wand
And turned him to a frog.
Poor Gretel started weeping,
Which softened Hilda’s heart,
And she turned her to a frog too
So they’d never be apart.
Now Hansel and Gretel live happily
In Hilda’s little stream,
Diving down for moonlight pearls
And eating fly ice-cream.

Leave a Reply

